Friday, 12 December 2014

A special school presentation for Christmas Card Competition Winner

Jasmin Whittaker
Today, I proudly announced the winner of my 2014 Christmas Card competition Jasmin Whittaker a pupil at Winstanley Community Primary School. I presented Jasmin with a collection of books during the school’s morning assembly.

The competition attracted entries from across the constituency with all of the designs being carefully judged by me.

It was an absolute pleasure to present Jasmin with her prize. It’s a great design and she’s clearly hit the right note, so I’m sure people will enjoy receiving the card in the run up to Christmas.

I know everybody at Winstanley Community Primary School School will be very proud of Jasmin and I am too.”

In this the competition’s 5th year, we had a fantastic response from local schools. The children clearly put a lot of effort into their art-work so it made my job of picking the winner extremely difficult. But I’d like to thank all of the children and their teachers for taking part.

Mrs Karen Thompson, Headteacher Winstanley Community Primary School said, “We submitted many high quality designs, hoping that one of ours would be chosen by Yvonne Fovargue for her Christmas card, so were very pleased when Jasmin’s was selected. We are extremely proud of her and the fact that our school name will now be featured on cards sent to so many important people!”

Yvonne also handed three runner up prizes to Rebecca Herbert, Tom McAllan (Tom was ill so thank you to Mrs Cardwell from Landgate School for attending. Get well soon Tom!) and Ana Kemp. All three designs feature on the back of the card.

Jasmin’s winning design will be sent to a number of distinguished people in the political world, including both the Prime-Minister, David Cameron and the Leader of the Opposition, Ed Miliband. The card will also be sent to individuals across the Wigan Borough including the Mayor of Wigan, Cllr Phyll Cullen.

2014 Christmas Card Competition Winners

1st Prize

Jasmin Whittaker
Year 6
Winstanley Community Primary School

Runners Up

Rebecca Herbert
St Wilfrid’s Catholic Primary School
Ashton in Makerfield

Tom McAllan
Landgate School & College

Ana Kemp
Worsley Mesnes Community Primary School

No comments:

Post a Comment